Use of Cell Phone in School Zones Could Cost You $1,000 or Worse
With kids around Louisiana going back to school this week, it's a good idea to brush up on school zone laws.
In May 2021, a law was passed prohibiting the use of cell phones in school zones in Louisiana.
As KATC explains "Motorists can not make a phone call on a handheld device while driving in a school zone during posted school hours in Louisiana."
With so much distracted driving happening on Acadiana's streets, this is a law that was much needed to help keep kids safe.
If you get popped for breaking this school zone law, you could be fined $1,000 with a second offense possibly resulting in a fine as well as suspension of your driving license for 6 months.
As outlined in the law, drivers are prohibited from "Operating a wireless telecommunications device shall include: (1) Engaging in a call. (2) Writing, sending, or reading a text-based communication. (3) Accessing, reading, or posting to a social networking site."
Simply put, just don't touch your cell phone in school zones, and if it's an important call you absolutely can't miss, make sure to answer it using hands-free.
According to the law, drivers are allowed to use a cell phone in school zones to report an accident, report a medical emergency, or report a road hazard.
You can the law in full over at KATC.com.