Contact Us

Election Results – Winners, Losers and Runoffs

Scott Olson/Getty Images

Voters in 8 Acadiana parishes went to the polls on Saturday to elect mayors, police chiefs, aldermen and decided road, library, fire and tax issues. Turn out was low at many polling places across the area. Pundits speculate the rain weather and the scope of the races were the reasons why many voters chose not to let their voice be heard.  Here are the results of how your vote counted on Saturday. Run off elections for some positions will be held in May. .

Acadia Parish -66% of voters approved a measure to fund a new fire protection district.

Iberia Parish– Loreauville residents approved a new property tax to fund sewer maintenance.

Jeff Davis Parish -66% of voters in Welsh voted against a tax proposal to fund recreation projects in that city.

St. Landry Parish –  Arnauldville residents elected Eddy Lecompte to serve as Chief of Police until November when the general election will be held. Joseph Irving Jr. was elected to the position of alderman in Palmetto.  In the District 10 school board race, Stephen Woods will face Hazel McCrea-Sias in the May 3 general election.

St. Martin Parish – St. Martinville City Council election in District 3, Dennis Paul Williams and in District 5, Romanus “Ike” Robertson were elected. There will be a run off election in District 4 between Debra Landry and Nary Smith, Sr. There will also be a run off for St. Martinville Mayor between incumbent Thomas Nelson and challenger Melinda Narcisse Mitchell.

St. Mary Parish – Raymond Harris, Jr., will remain the mayor of Franklin. Lester “Motor” Levine, Jr., won the councilman-at-large seat and Chuck Autin won the Franklin District B council seat .

Vermilion Parish- John Earl Leblanc claimed victory in the Erath mayor’s race. The position will be contested again in November when candidates run for a full four-year term. Erath residents also elected  Chris Hebert as alderman.  Kaplan mayor Kirk Champagne was reelected. Kaplan’s alderman at large position was won by Dirk Gary. In Abbeville, District D councilman Wayne Landry won re-election

Additional information for this report was compiled with assistance from our news partners at KATC-TV 3.

Best Of The Dawg

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Rowdy Friends quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Rowdy Friends contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.