Every year each NFL team awards one of their players the coveted Man of the Year award for their dedication to community service, charitable efforts and on-field performance.

The New Orleans Saints announced yesterday that their 2012 Man of the Year recipient is wide receiver Lance Moore. The award is voted on by members of the media, Saints front office staff and local non-profit and business executives.

"It feels great," Moore said. "Normally we're awarded for athletics. To get awarded for something as important as my commitment to community service, that's pretty cool."

Moore has been involved with several local charities, including his Lance Moore Community Cares program, which serves disadvantaged children and families. Most recently Moore spent New Years surprising 200 local YMCA children at Newman school as part of a clinic put on by members of the 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team and former Saint Jon Stinchcomb.

Moore also becomes the Saints representative for the Walter Payton Man of the Year award. The winner, selected from the 32 NFL teams, receives a $25,000 donation for the charity of their choice. The other 31 finalists receive a $1,000 contribution to the charity of their choice.

Drew Brees is the only Saint player to win the award, claiming the honor in 2006. He was co-recipient of the award along with then-San Diego Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson.

Good luck Lance, your Acadiana fans are proud of you!