The 17th Annual Lafayette Education Foundation announced its winners last night at a wonderful ceremony at the Heymann Performing Arts Center in Lafayette.

600 nominees were dwindled down to 16 finalists in four categories. Then last night, winners were revealed in each category.

The winners were:

  • Kimberly Kidder - J. Wallace James Elementary
  • Michelle Lakhotia - Judice Middle School
  • Simone McCrocklin - Comeaux High School
  • Milissa Welch - Lafayette High School (Inspirational)

One by one all of the winners were congratulated on stage before a packed house at the Heymann Center.

From everyone here at 97.3 The Dawg, we want to not only express our congratulations to the winners, but all educators for selflessly giving their time and talents to the children of Acadiana.