Lafayette Mayor-President Josh Guillory is expected to announce sometime today who will be the next police chief for the city.

The three finalists are: Sgt. Paul Trouard and Sgt. Wayne Griffin of the Lafayette Police Department along with Dallas Law Enforcement Veteran Thomas Glover.

Scott Morgan has been the interim chief since January 2020. He took over for former Chief Toby Aguillard, who was asked to resign or be fired on December 12th of last year by then-incoming Mayor-President Josh Guillory.

Aguillard agreed to leave his position at LPD for $70,000, more than half his annual salary.

Morgan said early on in his appointment that he had no intention of becoming the permanent police chief, citing other ambitions, including retirement.

10 Louisiana Laws You Don't Know You're Breaking

More From 97.3 The Dawg