LHSAA member schools today voted in favor of Proposition 18, which will split the high school football playoffs into "select" and "non-select" divisions.

The "non-select" or public schools will still have five classifications and crown five champions. .  The "select" which includes private and parochial schools, will have two divisions, with classes 5A, 4A and 3A competing in one division and classes 2A and 1A in a second division.

The select and non-select schools will continue to play each other during the season according to district boundaries.  The split is for the playoffs only.

A similar proposal to split the public and private schools in all sports failed to pass.

More From 97.3 The Dawg