The top ranked LSU Baseball team has set a school record by placing five Tigers on the ALL-SEC First Team, and Head Coach Paul Mainieri was named SEC Coach of the Year.LSU Baseball Report/William P. Franques



On the Web: SEC Awards

HOOVER, Ala. – LSU placed a school-record five players on the 2015 first-team All-SEC squad announced by the conference office on Monday. In addition, LSU coach Paul Mainieri was named SEC Coach of the Year and LSU right-handed pitcher Alex Lange was voted SEC Freshman of the Year.

LSU catcher Kade Scivicque, shortstop Alex Bregman, centerfielder Andrew Stevenson, third baseman Conner Hale and Lange were voted first-team All-SEC by the league coaches. The five first-team selections equals LSU’s school record, which was first established by the 2013 club.

First baseman Chris Chinea was named to the 2015 second-team All-SEC squad, and Scivicque, Bregman, Stevenson and rightfielder Mark Laird were named to the SEC All-Defensive Team.

Arkansas’ Andrew Benintendi was named the SEC Player of the Year, Vanderbilt’s Carson Fulmer is the SEC Pitcher of the Year, and Mississippi State’s Seth Heck is the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Lange is the fifth LSU player since 2000 to earn SEC Freshman of the Year accolades. He ranks second in the SEC in ERA overall (2.11) and third in conference games only (2.33). Lange is one of only three pitchers in the SEC to strike out 90 or more batters, and is one of only two SEC pitchers to earn 10 or more wins on the year.

Mainieri was named the SEC Coach of the Year for the second time in his career after leading LSU to their league-best 16th SEC regular-season championship. LSU also won the SEC Western Division title for the 18th time in school history and for the fifth time under Mainieri. The Tigers finished the regular season with 46 wins, the third-highest regular-season total in school history.

Bregman leads the SEC this season in stolen bases (29) and doubles (22) and he is No. 4 in total bases (128), No. 4 in runs scored (53) and No. 8 in base hits (73). Bregman’s 29 stolen bases this year marks the sixth-highest single-season total in LSU history.

Chinea is No. 2 in the league in hits (80) and he is third in batting average (.374), third in RBI (53), fourth in total bases (128), seventh in slugging percentage (.598), eighth in home runs (11) and ninth in doubles (15). Hale is third in the SEC in hits (78), seventh in RBI (50) and eighth in doubles (16).

Scivicque is seventh in the SEC with a .363 batting average and he is fifth in doubles (17). Stevenson is third in stolen bases (22), fifth in triples (5) eighth in hits (73), ninth in batting average (.360) and ninth in runs scored (47), and Laird is third in stolen bases (22) and ninth in runs scored (47).

For all of the latest information on SEC Baseball, please click to or follow @SEC_Sean on Twitter.

2015 SEC Baseball Awards

Player of the Year: Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas
Pitcher of the Year: Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt
Freshman of the Year: Alex Lange, LSU
Coach of the Year: Paul Mainieri, LSU
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Seth Heck, Mississippi State

First-Team All-SEC
C: Kade Scivicque, LSU
1B: Kyle Martin, South Carolina
2B: JaVon Shelby, Kentucky
3B: Conner Hale, LSU
SS: Alex Bregman, LSU
OF: Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas
OF: Andrew Stevenson, LSU
OF: Christin Stewart, Tennessee
DH/UT: Mitchell Nau, Texas A&M
SP: Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt
SP: Alex Lange, LSU
RP: Zach Jackson, Arkansas

Second-Team All-SEC Team
C: Mike Rivera, Florida
1B: Chris Chinea, LSU
2B: Max Schrock, South Carolina
3B: Josh Tobias, Florida
SS: Dansby Swanson, Vanderbilt
OF: Kyle Barrett, Kentucky
OF: Nick Banks, Texas A&M
OF: Logan Taylor, Texas A&M
DH/UT: JJ Schwarz, Florida
SP: Grayson Long, Texas A&M
SP: Cole Lipscomb, Auburn
*RP: Breckin Williams, Missouri
*RP: Wyatt Short, Ole Miss

Freshman All-SEC Team
C: Mike Rivera, Florida
1B: Evan White, Kentucky
2B: Dalton Guthrie, Florida
3B: Will Toffey, Vanderbilt
SS: Ryan Gridley, Mississippi State
OF: Keegan McGovern, Georgia
OF: Trey Harris, Missouri
OF: Jeren Kendall, Vanderbilt
DH/UT: JJ Schwarz, Florida
SP: Tanner Houck, Missouri
SP: Keaton McKinney, Arkansas
RP: Kyle Wright, Vanderbilt

SEC All-Defensive Team
C: Kade Scivicque, LSU
1B: Evan White, Kentucky
2B: Kyle Overstreet, Alabama
3B: Bobby Wernes, Arkansas
SS: Alex Bregman, LSU
OF: Andrew Stevenson, LSU
OF: Mark Laird, LSU
OF: Buddy Reed, Florida
P: Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt

* - Denotes a tie in voting. Ties are not broken.

More From 97.3 The Dawg