Louisiana Lieutenant Governor Billy Nungesser and Louisiana Main Street have announced 23 new Louisiana communities to receive national accreditation in the 2020 Main Street America program.

According to the website, since 1984 Louisiana Main Street "has helped communities transform the way they think about the revitalization and management of their downtowns and neighborhood commercial districts. Cities and towns across the state have come to see that a prosperous, sustainable community is only as healthy as its core." Ten national performance standards are evaluated before a decision is made about the neighborhoods and communities being considered for the honor.

Since the program began in 1980, it has generated 672,333 new jobs and 150,079 new businesses, and rehabilitated more than 295,348 buildings. The National Main Street Program is a division of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Read more about the program from KATC, and congratulations to the communities below!

  • Morgan City Main Street
  • Natchitoches Main Street
  • New Iberia Main Street
  • Opelousas Main Street
  • Ruston Main Street
  • Olde Towne Slidell Main Street
  • Springhill Main Street
  • St. Francisville Main Street
  • St. Martinville Main Street
  • Thibodaux Main Street
  • Winnsboro Main Street
  • Abbeville Main Street
  • Crowley Main Street
  • Denham Springs Main Street
  • DeRidder Main Street
  • Donaldsonville Downtown Development District
  • Franklin Main Street
  • Hammond Downtown Development District
  • Main Street Homer
  • Houma Downtown Development Corporation
  • Leesville Main Street
  • Minden Main Street
  • Main Street Monroe




What Makes Acadiana Such a Great Place to Live


More From 97.3 The Dawg