The 2019 CMA Awards go down tonight at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville. The show will air beginning at 7 pm on KATC TV-3.

There is one really important theme to understand about tonight's show -- it's about the ladies.

Women in country music has been a hot topic of debate over the last several months. More succinctly, the lack of women prominently featured in the format has drawn the ire from many in the industry (performers included).

So given this issue, a lot of people feel that the Entertainer of the Year Award will go to Carrie Underwood.

The fact of the matter is, she should win it no matter what because she is that dynamic of an entertainer. We saw that first hand in September when she brought her "Cry Pretty Tour 360" to the Cajundome.

But then again, the other four in the category are amazing entertainers in their own right. You see how this can be difficult?

Never fear, if you want to holler at Vegas and lay down paper, your pal has you covered. Here are my bold (but not really) picks for this year's CMA Awards. Oh, and I'll make sure I follow up with who actually won so I can show you all how awesome (or stupid) I am.

**My picks are in bold.**

Entertainer of the Year

Garth Brooks
Eric Church
Chris Stapleton
Carrie Underwood
Keith Urban

Male Vocalist of the Year

Dierks Bentley
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year

Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Vocal Group of the Year

Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year

Brooks & Dunn
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

New Artist of the Year

Cody Johnson
Ashley McBryde
Carly Pearce
Morgan Wallen


Single of the Year

“Burning Man” – Dierks Bentley Feat. Brothers Osborne
“GIRL” – Maren Morris
“God’s Country” – Blake Shelton
“Millionaire” – Chris Stapleton
“Speechless” – Dan + Shay

Song of the Year

“Beautiful Crazy” (Songwriters: Luke Combs, Wyatt B. Durrette III, Robert Williford)
“GIRL” (Songwriters: Maren Morris, Sarah Aarons, Greg Kurstin)
“God’s Country” (Songwriters: Devin Dawson, Jordan Schmidt, Michael Hardy)
“Rainbow” (Songwriters: Natalie Hemby, Shane McAnally, Kacey Musgraves)
“Tequila” (Songwriters: Dan Smyers, Nicolle Galyon, Jordan Reynolds)

Album of the Year

Center Point Road – Thomas Rhett
Cry Pretty – Carrie Underwood
Dan + Shay – Dan + Shay
Desperate Man – Eric Church
GIRL – Maren Morris




Musical Event of the Year

“All My Favorite People” – Maren Morris (feat. Brothers Osborne)
“Brand New Man” – Brooks & Dunn (with Luke Combs)
“Dive Bar” – Garth Brooks & Blake Shelton
“Old Town Road (Remix)” – Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
“What Happens In A Small Town” – Brantley Gilbert & Lindsay Ell

Musician of the Year

Jenee Fleenor, Fiddle
Paul Franklin, Steel Guitar
Mac McAnally, Guitar
Ilya Toshinskiy, Banjo/Guitar
Derek Wells, Guitar

Music Video of the Year

“Burning Man” – Dierks Bentley Feat. Brothers Osborne
“GIRL” – Maren Morris
“God’s Country” – Blake Shelton
“Rainbow” – Kacey Musgraves
“Some Of It” – Eric Church


More From 97.3 The Dawg